Monday, March 5, 2018

Strictly Beenham

A few photos of our recent concert. The final rehearsal was cancelled due to snow, but the concert went ahead with most of the Orchestra making it to Thatcham.

Thanks go to some last minute substitutions and  very hard working, 50% reduced, Horn and Percussion sections

An unusually large string section for a Wind Orchestra!

Friday, March 2, 2018

Rehearsal and Performance Dates

Spring Term 2018

Jan   5th,    12th, 19th, 26th
Feb   2nd,    9th, 16th, 23rd
Mar   2nd,    16th, 23rd

Summer Term 2018

Apr   13th,  20th, 27th
May   4th,    11th, 18th, 25th
Jun   1st,    8th, 15th, 22nd, 29th
Jul    6th,  13th

Saturday 19th May - Children's Concert, The Oratory Prep School, 2.30-5pm, Concert 7pm

Sunday 10th June - Newbury Bandstand, 3 - 5pm
Sunday 8th July - Henley Regatta, Phyllis Court, 2 - 4pm
Friday 13th July - Band on the Rec, Beenham, 7.30pm
Saturday 14th July - Englefield School Fete and Flower Show

Autumn Term 2018

Aug     1st

Sept    7th,  14th, 21st, 28th
Oct      5th,  12th, 19th, 26th
Nov     2nd,   9th, 16th, 23rd, 30th
Dec      7th,  14th

Saturday 1st September - Whitchurch Fete, time tbc
Saturday 10th November - Concert, St Mary's Thatcham
Friday 14th - Christmas Concert

Friday, February 23, 2018

Strictly Beenham

Dance away the winter blues with Beenham Wind Orchestra. March 3rd 2018 sees 
Strictly Beenham coming to St Mary’s Church, Thatcham, so put on your dancing shoes and tap along to Maple Leaf Rag, Rossini’s Tarantella, Shostakovich’s Waltz No 2 and Brahms’s Hungarian Dance no 5. The programme also includes some Yiddish Dances, a selection of dance music from the ‘20s and a lovely arrangement of Grainger’s Handel in the Strand clog dance.

At: St Mary’s Church, Thatcham
On: Saturday 3 March
At: 7:30pm, Doors open 7pm
Tickets: £10 in advance, £12 on the door. Available from Band Members and PictureIt in Thatcham from mid January 2018.